Hippogriff's Aerie

Apparitions of Imagination

News from the Realm

Here’s what’s happening:

  • I’m 500 pages through Deadhouse Gates with 200 to go. I went back to re-read the first 50 pages and things make a lot more sense. I have two issues with Erikson’s style: 1) he drops you in the middle of events at the beginning of the book and 2) there are so many viewpoints (and switching of viewpoints within chapters) that it’s hard to keep track of everything. A full review will be coming once I’ve finished.
  • My goal is to average a review every two weeks – that’s of course 26 books per year.
  • I picked up a 1st edition hardback (with dust jacket) of Prospero’s Children by Jan Siegel at a Goodwill yesterday for $5. Most of the hardcovers on eBay (with dust jacket) are $10 +$4-5 shipping. Considering the original list price was $24, I’m pretty happy with the purchase. It’s been added it to the long queue.
  • One of the things I’d like to start doing for reviews is indicating how many hours it took me to read the book being reviewed. I’ve lost track with Deadhouse Gates because I just thought of this, but from now on I will keep track of my reading time and give a final tally for the review.
February 23, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

