Hippogriff's Aerie

Apparitions of Imagination

Books received, and a Disappointing Result

I picked up my package from Amazon at the post office yesterday. This consisted of:

The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss

Desert of Souls by Howard Andrew Jones

Girl Genius 7 & 9 by Phil and Kaja Foglio

The Kings of Clonmel by John Flanagan

The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson

I really was looking forward to reading The Wise Man’s Fear. But when I opened the box, this is what I found:

I’ve never seen this before. The pages were mounted to the binding at an angle at a good distance from the edge, and were cut at an angle. In addition, some of the cuts weren’t complete, resulting in partially-cut strips hanging off the bottom of the pages, as you can see in the second photo. It’s definitely a manufacturing defect, but I’m surprised that the Amazonian who packed my order didn’t see it.

Luckily, Amazon is replacing it at no charge, including paying for the return postage. I’ve bought defective items from other merchants that required me to pay for return postage (Newegg, I’m looking at you).

So The Wise Man’s Fear goes back and I’ll have to wait a little longer for the replacement. In the meantime I’ll be reading Desert of Souls.

March 27, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Maybe you should have kept it as a collector’s item (:

    Comment by Kevin | March 28, 2011 | Reply

  2. If it was something cool, like green pages or alternate cover art, I probably would! 😉

    This, however, is just hideous…

    Comment by hippogriff | March 29, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

