Hippogriff's Aerie

Apparitions of Imagination

Reading the 1000+ page book: too daunting?

I haven’t had much time to read or post lately due to various circumstances. I’m currently trying to read Memories of Ice by Steven Erikson, but in the last week I’ve struggled to get to 120 pages, a little over 10% of the book. At 1000 pages, it’s up there with Patrick Rothfuss’s The Wise Man’s Fear and Brandon Sanderson’s The Way of Kings as the longest books I’m reading this year. This has lead me to the following questions:

Do you ever pick a book and think, “Am I able to tackle something this large right now,” and caused you to set the book aside? I’ve tried to follow thicker books with shorter books just to alter the pacing and flow of my reading.

Do you ever start reading such an epic volume and 50-100 pages in think, “how long will it take me to get through this?” and the task seems to daunting to continue?

In other words, have you ever set a book down (or not even picked it up), not due to lack of interest, but rather at the sheer size of the tome, because it just wasn’t something you were ready to tackle?

May 27, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Well, there’s also the practical side to it: sometimes a thousand-pager is just a little too heavy for the bag. I typically look to see where I’m going to be reading too. Because I dislike dragging my reading experience out too much, I prefer diving into those giants on weekends when I know I have more time to devote myself to pure reading. I’m sure I’ve subconsciously passed over fatter books because of their size on many occasions, but I feel like normally there’s a practical reason.

    Comment by Biblibio | May 29, 2011 | Reply

  2. That’s the strange thing for me – I’ll drag that fat book everywhere just to knock out as many chunks as I can. My weekends are usually filled with projects and give me little time for reading. I can actually devour more pages on my work breaks during the week.

    Comment by hippogriff | June 2, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

