Hippogriff's Aerie

Apparitions of Imagination

A Memory of Light: Fun With Excel

I really love using Excel for all kinds of things, and decided today that I wanted to use it to track my progress while reading A Memory of Light. So I threw a couple of graphs together and came up with this:

wheel of time copy

The graph on the left shows a vertical scale of my progress, based on my current page and the total number of pages. The upper right graph shows the same data except expressed as percentages rather than page count, in the form of a donut. The bottom right graph is a linear slope measuring “pages per day”. It always lags behind the other two graphs because it doesn’t get updated until the next morning – for instance, I’m on the third day of reading but the day’s not done yet, so the graph is incomplete.

I don’t know why I did this…I guess I just want to see the progress I’m making towards finishing the book.

January 10, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

