Hippogriff's Aerie

Apparitions of Imagination

Pulling the Plug on Zero Hour

CARMEN EJOGO, SCOTT MICHAEL FOSTER, ANTHONY EDWARDS, JACINDA BARRETT, MICHAEL NYQVIST, ADDISON TIMLINIt only took a couple of episodes for me to get fed up with Zero Hour. It could be that I’m more critical of tv shows than I am of books. However, I think it’s more likely that books are coherent, character-driven, written by a single person, and working toward a singular end. Often tv shows have multiple writers, who must develop an episodical, self-contained, time-constrained show every week. Zero Hour suffers from a lack of those things that make a book great. It’s incoherent, lacks vision, and though the actors try very hard, the characters aren’t really compelling. I had many questions after that first episode, and a couple are addressed immediately, but ultimately the second episode raises even more questions than it answers. When you combine that with characters whose actions are inexplicable save for the purpose of advancing the plot, I built up an ambivalence towards the plot and the characters. I think it’s unlikely the series will be renewed, so I don’t wanted to get heavily invested in it anyway – I’ve had my share of that…realistically I should be watching season 2 of The River instead of this…

February 23, 2013 - Posted by | tv shows |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

