Status Update 12-13-23

Last month I completed reading The Runes of the Earth by Stephen R. Donaldson, and last week I completed reading Oathbringer by Brandon Sanderson. That puts the Pages Read total for 2023 at 4632 pages. I’m now (finally) reading The White Wolf’s Son by Michael Moorcock, which has been on the TBR pile for many years. Since The White Wolf’s Son is 339 pages, if I can complete it by the end of the year, I will hit 4971 pages, just a bit shy of 5000 for the year. I feel pretty good about that accomplishment.

Unfortunately I don’t have time for reviews yet…I’ve had to work on all the things that come with being laid off such as coordinating benefits, dealing with unemployment (including a fraudulent claim from someone who stole my SSN), and liquidating various assets. I might be able to get to a few reviews completed once Christmas has past and I’ve completed traveling to see family and personal affairs have been settled.

2024 looks like the a year of positive change for me – more reading and more opportunities which have opened up due to my unemployed status. For the first time in years, I feel like I have some freedom, and multiple paths I can choose from moving forward. It should be a fun ride!

Leave a comment